CLOUDMAN23’s WEB-LOG – AN INTRODUCTION

For an explanation of this photo please go to the “Assorted Pics” page; the tab is near the top of this page.

DISCLAIMER: Some of the information on this site is published close to “real-time”  particularly as it applies to tropical weather;  so – check the posting date carefully.  It is important to remember that this web-log is not an “official” source of environmental information.  Please do not make any decisions based solely on the information found on this site or any other sites that are recommended here – unless they are official. Listen to your local authorities when conditions are life-threatening or there might be loss of (or damage to) property.

Caution – I often leave “dated” posts available because of certain potential tutorial value.  I apologize if this causes you any inconvenience.  Also, I do not recommend this site for comprehensive coverage of weather.  There are times when I do not address significant storms.  Above all, do not consider me to be an authority.


FOR AN INTRODUCTION

TO THIS WEB-LOG

PLEASE CLICK THE

SMALL”READ MORE”

CUE TO THE LEFT.

=============================================================

MOST IMAGES WILL ENLARGE WITH A LEFT CLICK OF THE MOUSE.

MANY WILL ENLARGE EVEN MORE WITH A SECOND LEFT CLICK.


For a brief explanation of the origin of this web-log, please consult the “About” page.  I am most interested in our natural environment and I am intrigued by the interactions, interrelationships, and inter-dependencies of all 5 of the environmental spheres.  My favorite classification scheme is straight-forward: Atmosphere, Biosphere, Hydrosphere, Lithosphere, and Spatial Sphere.  The latter is divided into two parts – the Sphere of Outer Space (e.g. planets, stars, galaxies) and the Sphere of Inner Space (e.g. protons, positrons, quarks). Because of my weather experiences, because I live in hurricane country, and because meteorology is what I enjoy teaching the most, I expect that weather will be the subject of many of my postings.  But I do intend to spend time writing about other aspects of our natural environment. Helping people is my goal but learning plays a close second.  Of course, the two go hand in hand.  My years of experience with college students and more recently “Senior Learning Institute” seminar participants at the College of Central Florida (Ocala) have taught me that it’s when I attempt to teach and disseminate information that I myself learn the most.  Learning is an essential aspect of my life style and this web-log is one of my many tools for doing just that.  It is my most sincere wish that you find some value in the contents of this web-log.

Yours Truly,

Tonie A. Toney

ProfToney@gmail.com

1 comment so far

  1. Dewdrop on

    Amazing shot with the tower going up behind the snow capped mountains. Absolutely amazing.

    I thoroughly enjoyed your explanation of the exponential increase in impact of increasing winds in a tropical cyclone. Very well stated.


Leave a Reply

