Tropical Wave In Eastern Caribbean

“Plot below is provided courtesy of Jonathan Vigh, Colorado State University. For more information about the graphic, click here.”

FROM THE NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER:
NWS TPC/NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER MIAMI FL
800 AM EDT SAT SEP 20 2008

1. A WESTWARD-MOVING TROPICAL WAVE ACCOMPANIED BY A SURFACE LOW PRESSURE SYSTEM OVER THE EASTERN CARIBBEAN SEA IS PRODUCING WIDESPREAD CLOUDINESS AND SHOWERS OVER THE LESSER ANTILLES AND ADJACENT CARIBBEAN AND ATLANTIC WATERS.  THIS SYSTEM IS SHOWING SIGNS OF IMPROVED ORGANIZATION THIS MORNING AND UPPER-LEVEL WINDS ARE EXPECTED TO BECOME SOMEWHAT MORE FAVORABLE OVER THE NEXT COUPLE DAYS FOR SOME ADDITIONAL DEVELOPMENT TO OCCUR.

===============================

Well, it’s time.  More tropical activity is inevitable. Yes – the official hurricane season for the northern hemisphere Atlantic, the Caribbean and the Gulf of Mexico is 6 months long. It begins on June 1.  That means that we must wait until the beginning of December in order to realize that at least officially, it’s over for another 6 months.  For many of us, it goes with the territory.  Environmental hazards and/or natural disasters are but a few things many of us must face, sooner or later.

I remember so clearly, after Andrew, how grateful I was and how often I expressed that gratitude.  I suspect that those closest to me got a bit tired of hearing the same old – same old out of me.  But I was (and am) sincere.  At least we were unhurt – at least we had good insurance – at least I could swing the cost of a travel trailer to put in the driveway while the house was being rebuilt, at least I had a job and, at that time, an understanding employer.  The paychecks did not stop, though absenteeism was high, we were told to take care of our personal matters first.  The length of that Autumn term at the college where I taught was shortened. I seriously doubt that my former employer would be so kind today – the management is far different now.

Whether it’s hurricanes, earthquakes, wild fires, mass wasting (e.g. landslide), tsunamis, floods, heat waves, etc., a multitude of hazards exist out there for we humans to contend with – some which we enhance because of the way we have altered our natural environment.  In time, I will no doubt speak of each of those and others in this web-log. However, I’m not well informed about (nor do I pretend to understand) what I perceive to be the most dangerous of hazards – namely – many, if not most, humans.  One need not study or observe too long or hard to learn that we can be our own worst enemies (individually and as a species).



No comments yet

Leave a comment